add share buttonsSoftshare button powered by web designing, website development company in India

Home » Posts tagged 'endometriosis facts'

Tag Archives: endometriosis facts

What Are the Recognized Endometriosis Stages?

The endometriosis stage is used by doctors to classify the extent to which the endometriosis implant has spread as well as the severity of the disease. Endometriosis is a disease that commonly occurs in women of childbearing age. Once they have their menstrual cycle, 16 year old women may experience symptoms.

Endometriosis is also a major cause of infertility. The endometrium is the lining in the uterus. This is where a fertilized egg implants and is released every month as part of a woman's menstrual flow. You can also visit endometriosisassn to know about the various facts related to endometriosis. 

Image Source: Google

If the endometrial tissue is in areas other than the uterus (i.e. fallopian tubes, ovaries, intestines, superficial pelvic lining), it is called endometriosis.

The stages of endometriosis are classified as follows:

Stage I – This is the stage of endometriosis, where the implant is minimal endometriosis. A score of 1 to 5 is given when an endometrial growth is isolated outside the uterus, usually along the pelvic cul-de-sac.

Stage II – This is considered mild endometriosis with 6-15 points. Small implants are located in a small area as well as many scars or adhesions. Sometimes both ovaries are affected.

Stage III – This is the moderate stage of endometriosis with a score of 16-40 points. Implants are both superficial and deep. Major areas of several scar tissues or adhesions are noted.

Stage IV – This is the most severe stage of endometriosis with 40 points indicated in the diagnosis. Many superficial and deep implants were observed along with large, protruding adhesions.